IPL 2020 Inauguration – Opening Ceremony Event

The IPL 2020 opening ceremony event expected to happen in Mumbai this year prior to the first IPL cricket match of Indian Premier League of 2020. So far, nearly 11 cities hosted the IPL inauguration function in the past IPL seasons. Most probably the IPL inauguration event will happen with celebrities performances like in the past IPL seasons. The complete list of IPL inauguration from IPL 2008 to IPL 2019 is given in the following table.

The 2020 Indian Premier League opening ceremony function will be held on April 15th 2020. The IPL opening event place is not yet announced. We will be updating the IPL opening match event, once the IPL schedule of 2020 is published. Mostly there are chances for IPL inauguration may happen in Mumbai.

IPL Season

Opening Ceremony City

IPL 2019

No Event, Canceled

IPL 2018


IPL 2017

Hyderabad, Pune, Rajkot, Indore, Bangalore, Mumbai, Kolkata and Delhi

IPL 2016


IPL 2015


IPL 2014

Abu Dhabi, UAE

IPL 2013


IPL 2012


IPL 2011


IPL 2010


IPL 2009

Cap Town, South Africa

IPL 2008


IPL Inaugration Cities

Past IPL Inauguration Ceremonies

The first and foremost IPL inauguration ceremony of IPL season 1 happened in Bangalore Chinnaswamy Stadium. The colourful event had happened prior to the first IPL cricket match between Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore. The second season of IPL was moved to South Africa due to Indian General Elections, hence the opening IPL ceremony had happened in Cap Town. The third version of IPL’s inauguration function has happened in Mumbai. Next 2 editions of IPL i.e, 2011 and 2012 happened in M A Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai. Kolkata had hosted the IPL 2013 inauguration ceremony function prior the IPL 2013 first t20 cricket match.

When is the IPL 2020 Inauguration?

15th April 2020

Where is the IPL 2020 opening ceremony

Mumbai, India

When will be the first match of IPL 2020 played?

It will be on April 15th


Leave a Reply